NDA nears Rajya Sabha majority, BJP gains 11 of 24 seats

National Desk: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) obtained major ground in the Upper House of the Parliament, winning 8 of the 19 Rajya Sabha seats up for vote in the biennial election held in eight states on Friday. Congress on the hand won 4 seats.

The BJP won 3 seats in Gujarat, 2 in Madhya Pradesh and 1 in Rajasthan, Jharkhand and Manipur each. In the meantime, the Congress had to settle for 2 seats in Rajasthan and one in Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat each. BJP had earlier won three seats unopposed.

Former Union minister Jyotiraditya Scindia of the BJP, Congress leader Digvijaya Singh and ex Jharkhand chief minister Shibu Soren were among the prominent leaders who emerged victorious on Friday.
The delay in counting of votes in Gujarat and Manipur amid allegations of irregularities resulted in high drama in Gujarat and Manipur.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which earlier had 90 members in the Rajya Sabha, has now taken its tally to 101 in the 245-member Upper House, where the majority mark is 123.

Image Source: Internet


What do you think?

Written by admin

A multimedia journalist based out of Guwahati, covering public policy, healthcare, and social issues.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Water services suspended on Brahmaputra

OIL instructed by Assam Pollution control board to discontinue Baghjan ops