BJP Led Coalition In Manipur Wins Trust Vote

Biren Singh BJP

North-East: BJP led coalition party in Manipur triumphed in the controversial trust motion. Chief Minister Biren Singh managed to prove the majority of his party in the Assembly House. The trust voting was done with voice vote during the special one-day Assembly session on August 10.

However, the victory of BJP not granted quietly. The opposition party created a massive uproar in the House. The opposition party alleged that the Speaker did not take up their no-confidence motion. Opposition leaders staged protect against the speaker.

CM Biren Singh supported the Speaker’s decision. He stated the fact that the BJP led government won because opposition MLAs were less in numbers. Ram Madhav, the North-East BJP in-charge applauded CM Biren Singh after the win.

Eight out of the 24 Congress legislators did not vote. Six MLAs submitted their resignation to the speaker while two MLAs formally declined to vote. After the trust vote, six Congress MLAs tendered their resignation.
Okram Henry resigned from Wangkhei. Ngamthang Haokip and Md. Abdul Nasir also resigned both were ministers in the Okram Ibobi Singh cabinet.
Manipur Renewable Energy Development Agency Chairman, G S Haupu Zou, P Brojen Singh, and Oinam Lukhoi Singh were among Congress MLAs who resigned ahead of the trust vote. All these resignations and abstentions ensured an easy win for the BJP. For the BJP led coalition side, all 29 members including the Speaker, 18 BJP members, four each from NPP and NPF, one each from TMC and LJP, and independent attended the session. Manipur Assembly currently has 53 members against the total strength of 60.

What do you think?

Written by Headline8 Desk


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



PM Requested To Help The State Emerge From Flood Devastations

Pramod Boro

Leaders like Himanta will lead Assam: Pramod Boro