India accomplishes as the non-permanent member of UN Security Council

News Desk: India becomes a non-permanent member of the powerful UN Security Council for a two-year term, in an unprecedented election where envoys from the 192 member states voted wearing masks and in adherence to the strict social distancing norms due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sarbananda Sonowal congralutes PM Modi on this achievement. Under the great Leadership of PM Narendra Modi and the continuous effort of India to spread peace in the world, this is a great recognition of India worldwide as said by Sarbananda Sonowal.

This is the eighth time that India will sit at the UN high-table. Previously, India was elected for 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently in 2011-2012 when Hardeep Singh Puri, now India’s Minister for Housing & Urban Affairs and Civil Aviation, was India’s Permanent Representative.

India placed its position as a non-permanent member of UNSC by successfully winning 56/58 votes in 1950-1951, 82/119 votes in 1967-1968, 107/116 votes in 1972-1973, 132/138 votes in 1977-1978, 142/155 votes in 1984-1985, 141/154 votes in 1991-1992, 187/191 votes in 2011-2012 and finally by 184/192 votes in 2021-2022.

Image Source: Internet


What do you think?

Written by admin

A multimedia journalist based out of Guwahati, covering public policy, healthcare, and social issues.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



PM Modi Censured Lockdown Rumours; Requested CMs to Gear-Up for Unlock 2.0

Next electronics starts boycott of Chinese goods