in ,

ECI Orders Re-Poll in Three Constituencies Assam

Assam Assembly repoll
ECI directs repoll in Assam Image source: Internet

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has directed the Chief Electoral Officer of Assam to conduct fresh re-poll in four polling stations.

As per the notice by ECI, the Assam polls that took place on April 1, 2021 (second phase of Assam Assembly Polls) at four polling stations in Assam have been declared void.
The ECI has appointed April 20, 2021, as the date of re-poll.
Re-polling will be held between 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM at the stated below polling stations in accordance with the Commission’s instructions.

Serial Number Number and Name of Constituency

Number and Name of Polling Station


1 – Ratabari (SC)

149 – Indira M.V. School (Right)


10 – Sonai

109 (463 No. Madhya Dhanehari L.P. School


16 – Haflong (ST)

107 A – Khothlir L.P. School

107 – Mualdam L.P. School

Earlier, the Election Commission of India has ordered re-polling at polling station number 149 of Ratabari seat in Assam. This decision came after the row surrounding an EVM being found in a car that belongs to Patharkandi BJP candidate Krishnendu Paul.

Also in the Sonai assembly constituency, at least two people were injured in a clash between two groups. The incident took place in the Dhanehari area.
Meanwhile, the polling booth in Haflong constituency of Dima Hasao district has registered a total of 171 votes, even though only 90 people were eligible to cast their vote.

Also Read: RTI Act- The Decline from ‘Powerful Tool’ to mere ‘Paper Tiger’

What do you think?

Written by Headline8 Desk


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Assam woman arrested

Woman from Assam Arrested at Bengaluru Airport for carrying Knife, Cutter

ECI bans exit polls

Election Commission of India Bans Exit Polls in Assam