Cabinet Committees reshuffled, Smriti Irani, Sarbananda Sonowal named in panel on political affairs

Smriti Irani and Sarbananda Sonowal
Smriti Irani and Sarbanada Sonowal have been included in the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs.

A week after the Narendra Modi-led cabinet was reshuffled, the government on Monday made changes to the powerful cabinet committees with Union ministers Smriti Irani, Sarbananda Sonowal and Bhupender Yadav finding a place in the committee on political affairs.

Minister for Women and Child Development, Smriti Irani, Environment and Labour Minister Bhupender Yadav and Ports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal are now in the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs, which is headed by PM Narendra Modi.

In addition, Union ministers Arjun Munda, Virendra Kumar, Kiren Rijiju and Anurag Thakur have been included in the reshuffled Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs headed by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

Meanwhile, there are no changes in the composition of the all-important- Cabinet Committee on Security and the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, which takes call on all major appointments in the government in the rank of Joint Secretary and above.

The members of the Cabinet Committee on Security are Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and External Affairs Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar.

What do you think?

Written by Headline8 Desk


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Protests outside Assam assembly prohibited in view of Covid situation

Protests outside Assam assembly prohibited during session in view of Covid situation


Assam Police’s `encounter spree` continues