Centre Releases Rs 6,195 Crore to 14 States as third instalment


New Delhi : On Wednesday the central government released Rs 6,195 crore to 14 states as monthly instalment of the post-devolution revenue deficit grant.

The Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman said in a tweet, “The government on June 10, 2020, released Rs 6,195.08 crore to 14 states as the third equated-monthly instalment of the post-devolution revenue deficit grant as recommended by the 15th Finance Commission. This would provide them additional resources during the corona crisis.”
Earlier, on April 3 and May 11, the ministry released a similar amount as the first and second instalment of the post-devolution revenue deficit grant to 14 states — Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.
The money has been released ahead of schedule and as a special dispensation to meet immediate funding needs of the state governments looking to restore economic activity and minimise losses to its citizens due to disruptions caused by lockdowns.
Image Source: Internet


What do you think?

Written by admin

A multimedia journalist based out of Guwahati, covering public policy, healthcare, and social issues.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



অসমৰ তিনিচুকীয়া জিলাৰ বাঘজানত অইল ইণ্ডিয়া লিমিটেডৰ গেছ কূপত হোৱা অগ্নিকাণ্ড সন্দৰ্ভত বিস্তৰ প্ৰতিবেদন

Number of recoveries exceed active cases for the first time